Characterizing Bacteria and Methanogens in a Balloon-Type Digester Fed with Dairy Cattle Manure for Anaerobic Mono-Digestion
More details
Hide details
Fort Hare Institute of Technology, University of Fort Hare, Alice Campus, Alice, Eastern Cape Province, South Africa
Applied and Environmental Microbiology Research Group (AEMREG), Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology, University of Fort Hare, Alice Campus, Alice, Eastern Cape Province, South Africa
South Africa Medical Research Council Microbial Water Quality Monitoring Centre, University of Fort Hare, Alice, Eastern Cape Province, South Africa
Christy Manyi-Loh   

Fort Hare Institute Of Technology, University Of Fort Hare, Alice Campus, Eastern Cape Province, South Africa, Fort Hare Institute Of Technology, Chemistry Building,3rd Floor, Rm 327, University Of Fort Hare, Alice Campus, King William's Town Road, 5700 Alice, King William's Town Road, South Africa
Submission date: 2017-06-14
Final revision date: 2017-07-25
Acceptance date: 2017-07-31
Online publication date: 2018-11-22
Publication date: 2019-01-28
Pol. J. Environ. Stud. 2019;28(3):1287–1293
In this study, bacteria and methanogens involved in the decomposition of dairy cattle manure have been characterized via cultivation on selective microbiological media by the viable plate count technique. In addition, DNA was extracted from digested samples, and the 16S rRNA gene was amplified using six primer sets specific to bacterial and archaeal domain via PCR. The sequences of the PCR products were determined and compared to similar sequences in the GenBank database using the BLASTN tools to identify the closest relatives. By culture, E. coli, Salmonella, Shigella, and Campylobacter species were identified and belonged to the phylum Proteobacteria. Following, 16S rRNA analysis, Firmicutes (80%) was the most dominant bacterial phylum represented by the predominant order Clostridiales and genus Clostridium. Other members belonged to the phyla Proteobacteria and Spirochaetes. The phylum Euryarchaeota (100%) was the only observed archaeal domain with members that belonged to the dominant class Methanomicrobia and genus Methanocorpusculum. Other members were related to the order Methanobacteriales and Methanosarcinales. Results suggested that Clostridium sp, Clostridium related organisms, and other acidogens were responsible for the deconstruction of biomass-generating substrates metabolized by Methanocorpusculum and Methanobrevibacter species to produce methane via the fundamental hydrogenotrophic pathway.